INEC Release Final List Of Candidates For Kogi, Bayelsa, Imo  Elections



 The Independent National Electoral Commissioner (INEC) has released the final list of candidates for the November 11 governorship election in Kogi, Bayelsa, and Imo states.

Festus Okoye, INEC National Commissioner and Chairman of the Information and Voter Education Committee said the approval of the list followed a meeting held by the Commission on Tuesday in Abuja.

“The decision is in line with the provision of Section 32(1) of the Electoral Act 2022 which requires the publication of the list not later than 150 days to election day i.e. Friday 9th June 2023 following the period for voluntary withdrawal and substitution of candidates by political parties under Section 31 of the Electoral Act 2022,” the statement read.

“The final list has been uploaded to the Commission’s website and social media platforms. The same will be published in our State and Local Government offices in the affected States on Thursday 8th June 2023 ahead of the statutory deadline of 9th June 2023.

According to the statement, all 18 political parties nominated candidates in Kogi, 17 in Bayelsa, and 16 in Imo states. The list also shows that two political parties are fielding female candidates in Bayelsa State, one in Kogi State, and none in Imo State.

Reminding political parties and candidates that in line with the timetable and schedule of activities for the three elections, INEC said the campaign in public officially commences on Wednesday 14th June, and ends on 9th November.

Okoye also reacted to last week’s incident in Kogi, saying it involved the convoys of two political actors resulting in the destruction of vehicles and other properties.

Describing the incident as worrisome, Okoye called on parties and candidates to conduct their political activities with civility and decorum as peaceful electioneering heralds a peaceful election.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *