FG Renames Airports After Awolowo,  Okadigbo,   Buhari, Others



The Federal Airport Authority of Nigeria (FAAN) on Monday revealed that government has approved the renaming of some airports after some prominent Nigerians.

FAAN in a statement in Abuja, said this was announced in a memo released by the Federal Ministry of Aviation dated June 1, 2023, and signed by Mrs Joke Olatunji for the Director of Airport Operations.

The statement noted that the President renamed the airports “as part of reforms of the Aviation sector.”

Ex-Aviation Minister, Hadi Sirika, had earlier made the disclosure few days before the hand over of President Muhammadu Buhari administration.

According to the release, the Maiduguri Airport was renamed after the immediate past President Muhammadu Buhari. Port Harcourt Airport was renamed after the late nationalist Obafemi Awolowo, while the Nasarawa Airport immortalised the late founder of the Sokoto Caliphate, Usman Dan Fodio.

Also, the Benin Airport was renamed after the late Oba of Benin, Oba Akenzua II;  Ebonyi Airport renamed after the late Senate President Chuba Okadigbo, and the Ibadan Airport after the late Premier of the old Western Region, Ladoke Akintola.

Olatunji, further said: Akure Airport  had been renamed Olumuyiwa Bernard Aliu; Dutse Airport renamed after Muhammad Nuhu Sanusi; and Gombe Airport renamed after Brigadier Zakari Maimalari.

Others are: Kaduna Airport – Hassan Usman Katsina, Makurdi Airport – Joseph Sarwuan Tarka, Minna Airport – Mallam Abubakar Imam, Osubi Airport – Alfred Diete Spiff, Port Harcourt Airport – Obafemi Jeremiah Awolowo, Yola Airport – Lamido Aliyu Mustapha.







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *